Fermentation

**UPDATE** The fermentation was an epic failure. All of the pickles turned to mush and developed a horrible, horrible smell. I don’t even want to put them in the compost pile for fear that they will make the chickens sick.

 

My first fermentation project. I find it a little scary. But I ate close to half of this pickle and, at the writing of this post, I’m not dead! I do think that they need to ferment for a couple more days, at least – it’s a little bland and still tastes like a cucumber in the center.

fermented kosher pickle

I used Arthur Schwartz’s instructions that David Lebovitz adapted and posted here.

Leave a Reply

